Skip to content

And the Wall Came Tumbling Down…

November 9, 2009

And so we mark 20 years since the fall of the Berlin Wall.  Such a huge part of the history of democracy, the fall marked a turning point. Yet, even as I write this, I wonder about democracy right here at home and what is happening to it.  So many seem content to give away their freedoms for some sort of basic comfort, like “free” medical care.  Nothing is free. You would think people would know that by now.  I’m glad that I have my faith, because right now I am sincerely worried. I’m worried for my kids and the future they face. I’m worried about losing my freedom to practice that faith which sustains me. Our Founding Fathers would never have imagined a time when their idea to keep government from establishing a forced faith would cynically be used to drive faith from the public square. Yet – the government is establishing its own faith, the faith of secular humanism or moral relativism.  Judges tell us we have rights found in the Constitution to a privacy that allows us to destroy the unborn, but pretty soon we won’t even be allowed to choose our own doctor!  How do they reconcile these things in their minds?  The logic is tortured and twisted, but at some point it just falls in on itself. Our government is way out of line with the things they are doing right now.  Congress is sworn to uphold the Constitution, not rewrite it. They are doing damage to this country. I pray that it can be undone.   Check out this great post at The American Catholic. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

